Twentieth Century Gossip And Socialites

If you love Downton Abbey then you will love this dishy read. It goes into the inspiration for Cora Crawley’s character and all of that early 20th century gossip you don’t like to admit that you love. Well, except for Consuelo Vanderbilt’s marriage. Her husband sounded like a real… what’s a 20th century aristocratic way of saying asshole? Um, Google is not helping in this search so the Shakespeare Insult Kit will have to do. I know the Dowager Countess would not approve of his philandering ways.

(via)

Also, I must gush about our visit to the Hillwood Estate, Museum, and Gardens. When Lauren came to visit a few weeks ago, I figured this little gem would be the perfect place to spend an afternoon. I used to live in Cleveland Park and regretted not going when I lived there. Better late than never because this place is incredible. I took several terrible photos with my phone. They do not do this place any justice. I didn’t even take all of the pictures I wanted to take. Every turn in this place was dripping with beauty.

Throughout the time we spent there, Lauren and I kept thinking we need to start channeling Marjorie Merriweather Post, Queen of Fabulous. Her life was truly inspirational. She was intelligent, savvy, and independent. This book detailing her life and the extent of her art collection is awaiting my purchase. For pictures that aren’t from a phone, there is a great collection of them on Hillwood’s website.

Leave a Comment

