What To Eat When Winter Won’t Go Away (aka The Best Grilled Cheese)

Well, for those of us on the east coast, it snowed like it was early January in late March. Upon waking Monday morning to see a blanket of snow coating the ground and no text alert telling me to “work” from home , I wondered if I had woken up in a strange alternate universe. It was like DC had transformed to a reasonable place where five inches of snow didn’t shut it down. For once, I was pissed I couldn’t enjoy “working” in sweats from the comfort of my couch due to the irrational fear brought on by precipitation.

My frustration continues since I won’t be indulging in one of my favorite cold weather comfort foods: grilled cheese and tomato soup. I’m trying to drop a few lbs and tone up before getting fitted for a bridesmaid dress in late April, hitting up the beach for Hangout Festival in May, and life in genreal because I am squeezing into my clothes a la Kim Kardashian. It’s not a cute look. For those of you not trying to tighten up in an unrealistic amount of time, I present my recipe for grilled cheese:

The Best Grilled Cheese You Will Ever Eat

You will need:

– 2 slices of whatever bread you like
– Butter (Kerrygold is amazing and not bad for you since it’s real butter)
– 2 slices of your preferred cheese from the deli counter (I like cheddar, Gouda, or Gruyère)
– Mayonnaise (NOT Miracle Whip, that’s a sin. So is low-fat mayo.)

1. Heat a skillet over medium-high heat.

2. Butter one side of each slice of bread.

3. Before adding the first slice of bread to the pan, add a small bit of butter to the pan so the bread won’t stick. Once the butter has melted, lay down your first slice of bread, butter side down.

4. Place the cheese slices on top of the bread (you really need at least two slices, it makes it all ooey-gooey and oh so yummy).

5. Before placing the second slice on top, spread some mayonnaise to the non-buttered side of the bread. Place the mayo side down on the cheese.

6. Move the sandwich around in the pan a little bit so it doesn’t stick. Flip over once the cheese has started to melt and the bottom is golden brown (or darker, some people like burnt grilled cheese). Remove from the pan once both sides are crisped to your liking.

Now, the mayonnaise. I know it may sound strange. It’s certainly something that Paula Deen would endorse. My uncle made this for me one time and told me it was how my grandmother made grilled cheese. I was skeptical, but my uncle asked that I try it first, and if I didn’t like it, he would make me a new one. I LOVED IT. The mayo give it a rich, creamy, sassy punch of flavor you never knew you were missing.

I will be looking at this while I eat responsibly today. Doesn’t it look SO GOOD?

For the tomato soup, Martha really knows what’s up (natch): http://www.marthastewart.com/343299/creamy-tomato-soup

So, please enjoy this comfort food now while it’s still freezing outside. I will dream about it while eating whatever combo of protein and vegetables I’m having for dinner tonight. Don’t worry, I’ll be back to enjoying this classic combo when the weather gets cooler in the fall.

Leave a Comment

