Looking Positively Radiant After A Night Of Over-Doing It

I am a true goo hoarder. It’s gotten exponetially worse with the monthly box phenomenon like Birchbox and Glossybox (say box one more time Sam) (box). Even when you don’t feel like braving the public and decide to order your beauty stuffs online, you get a handful of samples. I had to start giving these away to friends and family.

Two that I will never dole out are Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Eye and the Midnight Recovery Concentrate. Once my samples of these two miracle substances runs out, I will cry. Then I will go to Kiehls for more.

See, I would just buy them, but I don’t need them that often, at least not right now. So, yes, I will be Jennifer Anniston’s character in that awful movie “Friends with Money” trolling the beauty counter for freebies.

Don’t ever watch that movie. Don’t. I was having a nice night in with friends, wine, weed, and free OnDemand movies when we decided to watch this. It was under “comedy.” Whoever wrote the description, you are an awful person. You made this movie seem worth watching. Also, really Rotten Tomatoes? 71%? All of these characters are loathesome, self-centered assholes who pity their “poor” friend because she is single and working as a maid. Also, spoiler alert if you care (and you shouldn’t), Jennifer Anniston’s character starts cleaning the house of what seems to be this lonely, sad, nerdy dude. She begrudgingly goes on a date with him at the end where she finds out -SURPRISE- he’s rich. He just lives like a borderline hoarder in a small house.  And whoaaa, I was talking about samples wasn’t I?

I used these samples on a Sunday night after a pretty full weekend of traveling and late-night partying. Before crashing and hoping that the Monday morning alarm wouldn’t come too soon, I applied this serum and eye cream sample because it seemed pretty heavy-duty and I looked rooooooough.

I awoke Monday morning to discover that instead of looking like I had been raging all weekend, I looked like I had been at a spa doing yoga and “juicing” or some shit. My skin was glowing like a Proactiv commercial but without all of the soft lighting and lies. Since then I’ve been using it after late nights out or long weekends. Or, more recently, after the time I woke up at 2am and couldn’t fall back asleep and then decided to watch all of House of Cards on Netflix.

I break out the Clarisonic to sand blast all of the previous night’s poor decisions off of my face (like not washing my make-up off because I was drunk). After cleansing, I put a few drops of the serum on the back of my hand and apply it to my face with my fingers. It doesn’t sound like it would be enough, but it is. If there is leftover serum on my hand I will rub the backs of my hands together. I have this irrational fear of being 40 with youthful yet age appropriate skin but hands like Madonna’s. So I sometimes put moisturizer on the backs of my hands (Crazy, party of one). Anywayyyy… once the serum has soaked into my skin, I apply some moisturizer (Ole Henriksen’s Truth Creme is my current jam), and then dab on the eye cream.

Since I don’t need much of either of the products and don’t use them that often, I’m not into buying the full sizes yet. My cabinet is already bursting at the seams. I have a feeling in a few years these will be staples to quell my anxiety of finding My First Wrinkles.

Leave a Comment

