My Sriracha Addiction Helps Me Make Great Dinners

Guess who is addicted to sriracha? I took this quiz on sriracha addiction and scored a 97%. You can now call me “The Dark Lord of Sriracha,” bitches. Ever since it was thrown in my face that I am an addict, I’ve been looking for more ways to get sriracha into my diet.

For those who don’t know and are too embarrassed to ask, sriracha is a Thai hot sauce made with sun dried chilies, vinegar, garlic, salt, and sugar. Some people call it “rooster sauce” or “cock sauce” (ha, oh yeahhh). It’s spicy and a little sweet. It makes any food 100% better. If you’re really curious about it, you can read this New York Times article or the Wikipedia one.

Sriracha in all of it’s spicy, sweet glory

I made this tasty dish for dinner Wednesday night with a few tweaks. The original recipe is for chicken wings, which sounds delicious:

http://appetiteforchina.com/recipes/sriracha-garlic-chicken-wings/

My Version of Sriracha Garlic Chicken

  • 4 chicken breasts (approximately 1.5 pounds)
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup Sriracha
  • 1/3 cup ketchup*
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 generous tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 3 scallions, green parts chopped tossed with toasted sesame oil and salt
  1. To make the marinade combine the garlic, Sriracha, ketchup, soy sauce, honey, and sesame oil in a bowl. Place chicken breasts in a large freezer bag. Pour the marinade over the chicken. Seal the bag and mix the contents so the chicken breasts are coated with the marinade. Place flat in the refrigerator overnight, mixing the contents once in the morning. If you don’t have time to let it sit overnight,  the original recipe recommends marinating at least 3 hours.
  2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Place the chicken on a baking sheet lined with foil. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until the chicken is golden brown and has an internal temperature of 165 degrees F.  Transfer to a plate, and sprinkle the scallions over the top before serving.

* Heinz, there is no other ketchup.

Before becoming a delicious marinade

First, you need to make the marinade. I did this night before. It’s quick and easy to do. Mincing the garlic is really the only thing that takes any effort. Really, it’s easy. I wouldn’t have stopped along the way to snap pictures with my phone if this was hard. The most difficult part was handling raw chicken because that makes me so, so queasy. It’s the texture. I just can’t with that. Transferring from bowl to bag should have been easy, but me being me, I did spill some marinade. Also, if you’re new to sriracha, make sure to thoroughly wash your hands after. I had a, um,  friend who put some on popcorn one day while watching a movie, then had a some, uh, “personal time” after without washing their hands in between, and the result was the least sexy way to make genitals burn.

Mmm Mmm Marinatin’

After this, you really only have to preheat the oven and let it bake. I put foil on a baking sheet because who likes doing dishes? Also, about halfway through, I spooned some of the marinade on top of the chicken breasts. I served it with bok choy, which is also easy and tasty to make.

Bonus: Bok Choy with Garlic

  • Bok Choy (I don’t know how much volume it is, they come in these giant stalk things, so one of those)
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Sesame oil (you can also use vegetable oil)
  • Salt
  1. Gently pull apart and rinse the bok choy well. Chop into small pieces, separating the stalk pieces from the leaves.
  2. Heat the oil in a pan and add the garlic. Once the garlic has started to turn golden brown, add the bok choy stems. Sprinkle with salt to taste.
  3. When the stem pieces become softer, add in the leaves and toss until the leaves begin to wilt (about 2-3 minutes).
  4. Optional: add a little toasted sesame oil on top before serving.

The result was delicious. I’m glad I cut down on the ketchup. I could taste all of the flavors well, but I think more ketchup would have taken over. I personally would have liked a little more sriracha with it, but I know not everyone enjoys the sweet, fiery burn as much as I do. The kick from the sriracha was mild but in a good way. I meant to take a picture of the finished product, but didn’t want to rip the plate out of my hungry boyfriend’s hands and then have to explain why I was taking pictures of my food like a crazy person. Since I dropped the ball on taking a “tah-dah” picture, here are the leftovers that I will be enjoying:

GET IN MAH BELL-AY

One thought on “My Sriracha Addiction Helps Me Make Great Dinners

Leave a Comment

