Honey BB Cream Child – A Guide to Beauty Balm

If you haven’t heard about BB Cream then you must have been living under a rock for the past 2 years. I can’t stop hearing about it, that’s how much people talk about this stuff. And for good reason. I’ve tried so many you could call me Honey BB Cream Child (but please don’t because that show is so, so wrong). I have forsaken all foundation for Beauty Balm (BB), an all-in-one moisturizer, skin treatment (acne, anti-aging, etc.), and make-up. It is your morning routine, streamlined. I especially love BB Cream because I am what you would call “lazy” and “impatient” when it comes to applying make-up. Ain’t nobody got time for that. You can honestly just smear this on your face, blend, and go about your day. Swoon.

Honey Boo Boo would probably love BB Cream

Dr. Jart: Before I tell you about Dr. Jart and his wonder cream (ha, I don’t know anything about his other wonder cream) (OH MY GOD SHUT UP), I must tell you about the time I was in a Sephora browsing for BB’s. I mistakenly read Dr. Jart as Dr. FART and burst out laughing. Please tell me I’m not alone in this. The lady working next to the display asked if I was ok. She seemed less than amused to find I was snickering about Dr. Fart– I mean JART! JART with a J. JART JART JART! (still giggling here, I’m sorry) Yes, Sassy Sephora Employee, I realize I’m an immature adult who still enjoys bathroom humor, but can you not give me the fact that Jart is one letter off from Fart? It’s not a stretch.

Dr. Jart+ aka Dr. Fart aka Makes me look like olds

So, -ahem- DR JART BB CREAM. I tried the Dr. Jart+ Water Fuse formula. The application is a little tricky. I’m guessing that is due to the “water fuse” formula. The key is not to apply too much at one time and to blend well. I can’t tell you enough– the key to this is blending. It starts out looking (and smelling) like you just smeared a bunch of sunscreen on your face, but the more you blend, the more it adapts to your skin color and evens out. It made my skin look dewy and fresh. Granted, when I tried it, I was having a particular good skin week. The coverage is pretty sheer, so if you’re not having a good skin week, it may not be enough for you.

The Dr. Jart formula left me looking grayish. I had to use some Benefit Moon Beam to make me look less… sickly. As the day wore on though, it turned on me. It made my skin look more gray, which aged me quite a bit. In other reviews I’ve read on Dr. Jart, this seems to happen quite often. Is Dr. Fart Jart worth the investment? Not for me. I would recommend getting your hands on a sample and trying for yourself.

Garnier – brings out my inner Snooki

 Garnier: Well…. you can’t beat the price. I don’t recommend for the extremely pale (like myself). Even the light shade is a little too dark (and kind of orange) if you have fair skin. The one thing I like about this over others I’ve tried is that when you wash it off at night, it leaves your skin feeling really soft. Other perks: it smells great, and the application is buildable. A little goes a long way, even if you’re going for more coverage. The downside for me outweighs everything else. I have oily skin, and this BB cream makes you look kind of shiny from the start. After a few hours with this on, my face looks like it is melting off from all of the shine. Oh, and I broke out after wearing it, so thanks Garnier. For the low, low price of $11-13, give this a try if you are tan with dry skin.

Boscia’s bad ass BB

 Boscia: I really like this one. I like it so much I want to take it behind the bleachers and get it pregnant. Again, like with Garnier, it’s a little dark if you have fair skin. I use it in the summer when I have a little bit of a tan and it blends in perfectly to my skin tone. It gives your skin a really nice glow too. The coverage is sheer but easily buildable. It makes you look like you aren’t wearing any make-up, except in a good way. Like in the way people who have flawless skin who don’t wear make-up and constantly brag about it kind of way. Yes, it makes you look like one of those assholes, which is probably why I like it so much. -Hairflip-

I have yet to find any flaws with this BB cream. I would wear it year round if I didn’t turn into a special shade of translucent during the winter months. Boscia would make me the happiest girl in the world if they made a lighter shade for the months I legitimately could pass as a vampire. If you can snag a sample, prepare to fall in luuuuurve.

Etude House. Legit BB Cream straight from Korea.

 Etude House: I saw this video on Korean BB Creams and immediately bought it from Amazon. I don’t have the exact formula she does, but the result is still a matte finish. I can’t say enough good things about this one. I love it! It makes your skin look flawless. I have large pores and this makes it look like I don’t have any, which is truly a feat. It’s feels lighter than wearing a tinted moisturizer. Oh AND it has great coverage. And sunscreen. It’s easy to blend and apply, which is great for the morning when I’m still half-asleep. The best thing about this one is that it does not smear or smudge after you’ve applied. With or without make-up primer, this stuff stays on your face. It really does everything, no lie.

This stuff comes to you straight from Korea, the source of the BB craze. I feel like this is what sets it apart from all of the American brands I’ve tried. I’ve been wearing Etude House for over a year now, and my skin has never looked better. It’s worth trying a Korean brand to see the difference. Some other Korean brands to try: Hanskin, Missha, and Skin79. All are sold on Amazon.

And if BB Cream wasn’t enough, last month Birchbox sent me this CC Cream, which is being pushed as “the next BB Cream.” Ugh typing that makes me want to vom. Orange is the new pink! Gray is the new black! CC Cream is the next BB Cream! It’s fucking exhausting. Overall, BB creams live up to the hype. It’s just trial and error finding one that works for you so try as many samples as possible.

And now I leave you with this:

Leave a Comment

